1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Long Do You Usually Prepare?

Discussion in 'Asia' started by DreamingOfCherryBlossoms, Sep 27, 2016.

1. When it comes to preparing for traveling to another country, how long do you prepare ahead? Do you spend a couple months learning the language or just a couple weeks with a focus on important phrases? What is something you wish you knew when you first started traveling and you always do now?

2. Ava

Ava Member

I used to advise gap year students on their travels and most would be planning a year ahead. These days it's much easier with the internet and up to date information. I've been traveling independently for a couple of decades now, but you learn something new on each trip. Usually I print out everything, because having hard copies is easier and then I can physically see the dates and places I will be.

I do keep my plans open though, but check bus times and train schedules in the area if things don't work out. In terms of packing, I pack light, and always carry snacks with me as you never know if shops will be open. If I do need to know another language, I write down key phrases on sticky notes and keep those handy in a plastic wallet. I've always been a sensible traveler and the only thing I wish I had done was bring rehydration salts with me when I was trekking, because another traveler had them and gave them to me, which saved me life. Always take medical supplies, and don't skimp especially if you go off the beaten track,

3. amelia88

amelia88 Active Member

I'm a planner, but I'm not much of a foreign language learner - I do usually try and have a few phrases under my belt, but anything more than that tends to just fall out of my brain...